Why isn't Blanka top tier?

I played with Blanka for a little while and he feels like a very versatile character.
Why isn’t he top tier? I’m no pro so I can’t tell when it comes to minute matters of frame advantages and etc, but from a simple overview, the mobility, mixups, the shock, the HP slide, the good normals all of it comes together quite well.

So why isn’t there a top tier Blanka?

What are you talking about, Blanka is God Tier online

From a normal perspective he is around B area. So it’s hard for him to get in vs anyone who has A level normals. Also his damage output is pretty bad and his mixup game from an oki perspective is quite tame.

The top tier characters all have very strong normals or easy ways of getting in. Some have incredible oki games. Blanka is really weak in that department. His strength is normals for the most part. The big thing that sets him apart from others is his slide. Most strong normal defensive chars have issues vs fireballs. Blanka doesn’t. While he can still get zoned out, his slide allows him to do well vs guile, shoto, and sim while other charge defensive characters like balrog/honda have difficulties. He has a strange set of chars that he’s strong against, unfortunately 3 of the top 5 chars in the game he is basicaly a 3-7 against. He is a solid mid and potentially mid/high character. the reason we don’t have a top blanka in the usa is there are few players who want to play a charge low damage output lame character. He is potentially one of the most boring characters to play optimally. Players here enjoy him BECAUSE they like that style. Most players don’t, including top players.

I think his oki game is good with his hop which is something like a ground cross up, his lows, kara throw, overhead/fake overhead etc… but like you said, the true issue is his damage output which is very poor.