Vega Beginners Thread

You’re just starting to learn Vega, and you don’t know where to start. Well, this is the place to pick up on the beginning concepts for the character.

=== NOTE: If you want to become the OP for this thread so you can maintain the top post to aggregate the thread’s information here, contact me via the SRK messaging system and I will be able to convert you to become the OP for this thread. ===

So does this guy have a reversal

Nope.

At best he has EX ASE which is supposed to evade throws - but it’s a risky options because it has slow startup and *will *get counter hit.

And considering you can just jump if you feel a throw is coming, and won’t eat a reversal counter AND waste EX meter in the process…

Can I get a rundown of our primary pokes in each stance, like what they do.

This low-profiles him, this beats lows, etc.

I studied the hitboxes a little in this game…and it doesn’t look like there’s any low profiling as such. You have a crouching hurtbox that remains static while the normals come out.

V-Reversal is really Vega’s only option.

So do people prefer to use v meter for v reversals to escape pressure? Or are there situations where you’d really prefer to have v-trigger?

How do you fully utilize his V-Trigger? I’m in the lab testing it against Ryu and I get beaten clean every time by his fireball. The AA version and air version are great.

neutral V-trigger for cancelling out of pokes
crouch V-trigger for Anti-air
jump V-trigger for beating fireballs (and situationally air-to-air/air-to-ground)

Here are some extremely simple combos for people just starting out and can’t Claw Switch reliably yet.

Claw attacks:
cr.MK, cr.LP xx LK CT (Hit confirm.)
(s.HK CC) s.HP xx s.HP xx VS (Punish/Jump-in combo.)
(s.HK CC) s.MP, cr.MP xx VT, CA (Critical Art hit confirm/Punish.)
(s.HK CC) s.HP xx HK CT xx CA (Critical Art punish combo.)

Bare-handed attacks:
cr.MK, cr.MP xx MK CT (Hit confirm for crouching opponents.)