The "Official" SSBM Thread

First off, I want to make one thing clear about the indoctrine of this thread:

This is not a thread about discussing why or why not you may feel Smash is/isn’t a legitimate fighting game. This is a gameplay discussion thread.

If you have any thoughts on the afformentioned issue, post them here: http://www.shoryuken.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73551&page=1&pp=15

…and we’ll deal with it in that thread.

With that said, the last thread showed that there is indeed some interest to be found in this game at SRK, so I’d like to see how a thread like this would fare around these parts.

I’ll try my best to answer any and all gameplay related questions, and if I can’t answer them, I’ll attempt to point you in the proper direction to find them.

Viva’ La’ Smash.

-CynicaL

God bless you for making this thread.

-The Demon

Here’s hoping it sticks around for a while

:cheers:

-Syn

Ok, Noob here to Ask Qs; I’m tired of getting pummeled by my 10yo cousin:

1. What’s the control Layout supposed to acomplish?
    (As in how’s it designed) I’ve a hard time getting used to it…

2. Which are the non-so-basic movs?
    (Like parry, RC, triangle jump, Guard Impact in other games)

3. Are there any established tiers?
    (I’ve heard pikachu is really high, is it true?)

Hope this isn’t too basic.

The control layout is designed so that moves can come out eassily since the game isnt about how complicated the moves are, but how you use them. Also you should try and master jumping with the X and Y buttons rather then by pressing up on the stick, it allows you to get the most out of your jumps.

Some of the advanced moves include Small Jumping, Wave dancing, Wave Dashing, Reflecting, R cancelling, Wall Clinging, Air Item Grabbing, turtle grapling ect. as well as some character specific tricks such as Fox’s infinite and the Bowser Train.

Top Tier:

Zelda/Shiek
Ganondorf
Falco
Marth

Mid Tier:

Captain Falcon
Mario
Dr. Mario
Fox
Link
Samus
Young Link
Peach