Superior Tech Talk: MvC3 Iron Man Q & A - Ask Questions get Answers

I’m fairly new to fighting games so my ability to pick up FG and just do well isn’t as good as my ability to pick up any shooter. That being said, I am trying to improve my Iron Man. I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions on what I should focus on in terms of Iron Man’s technical aspect?

If there are a handful of techniques/skills that I should pick up for him what would they be? I want to be able to focus on those to improve my overall team as I think it is pretty solid as it stands right now.

Thanks!

Safe pressure, blocking, hitconfirms, spacing. If you’re new to fighters, worry about those.
There’s not point learning iron man specific stuff when you’re fundamentals aren’t solid.

Yeah. I’ve been working pretty hard on that. I’ve won my first five online matches today because I was trying to employ most of what you mentioned, though I still have a hard time blocking; I get crossed up a lot.

But besides those things (which I do admit I need to work on) is there anything IM specific that is important that I should at least start to theorize? While I’m working on the above fundamentals I could run through my head the possibilities of what I would do in certain situations. I used to be a Melee player (I know Smash is taboo around these parts) so I’m all about being able to reproduce on screen what is in my head.

Yeah basic fighting game stuff is more what you should be worried about. As far as IM goes it’s all about hit confirming into as lengthy a combo as possible, his health isn’t too great so you have to make it hurt. Finding the proper assists is a big deal because you have to either get in safely or try to play keep away with fairly one dimensional tools. I recommend lots of training mode.

ps: this game is trash online =p