Necro for Scrubs, by a Scrub

I’ve been playing the “wanna-be dhalsim” for about two years now, and I think through my losses and consistent attempts at mastering him, I’ve learned quite a bit about how he should generally be played. I’m far from mastering him, but I wanted to try to give some of my experience to anyone out there who might benefit from it. So without further ado, I present:

Necro for Scrubs, by a Scrub

First thing you gotta know about Necro is that he’s not top tier. His priority is low, his speed(even if you master super jump canceling and all of your cancels) is only moderate, and his defense isn’t all that great. Finally, many of his important moves/combos take a lot of good execution to come out correctly 100% of the time. Necro requires a lot of practice on the part of the player as well, so he isn’t going to be easy if you choose him

So why play him?

1. He has one of the highest stun ratings out of every character in the game.
  2. If played correctly, you can control matches to the point of absolutely frustrating your opponent.
  3. Most of his attacks/combos give you extra free hits if your timing is good(especially especially in the corner).
  4. Playing him is extremely challenging and fun at the same time.
  5. Long reach attacks that can surprise the opponent
  6. He’s one of the most fun characters to play in 3s(totally biased opinion).

So with all the advantages and disadvantages aside, I’ll move onto the tips.

Tip #1: Get them into the corner

Your number one absolute priority when playing with Necro is to get your opponent into the corner by any means necessary. When the opponent is in the corner, you can effectively control the flow of the game. Its not entirely about doing all the corner combos or anything, but pressuring your opponent to force him to make mistakes.

These are a few ways to get your opponent into the corner:

Snake Fang Setups
Tornado Hook Setups
Drill kicks/Super jump canceled drill kicks