I'm new to this game and would love some pointers!

I finally caved into buying this game because of someone was making it look like a lot of fun. I didn’t buy it earlier because I have MvC2 and hated the online and assumed this would be no different.
So since I’m here (sorry if any questions has been asked before.), What are the terms used in MvC and what do they mean? I found out OTG is “off the ground” but idk if that means like a bounce off the ground or hits someone when they are laying flat on the ground.
What’s synergy exactly? I know it has something to do with how well your team works together, but does synergy increase your teams stats or something?
Simple vs. Normal controls? I find simple controls easy to land little combos compared to normal where I cant land jack, I also can’t find some moves I can do on Simple on Normal.
Can someone help me with combos and such in-game? I find learning easier with experience opposed to talking/typing. I have the x-box version at the moment, but I might return it for a PS3 version so I don’t have to worry about running out of Live.

OTGs are anything that hits someone when they’re lying flat on the ground.
Synergy doesn’t increase “team stats,” but a team with good synergy is less disadvantaged upon the loss of a character than poorly-constructed teams.
Stop playing simple controls now. Simple mode will never teach you anything and actually limits what special moves you can execute. You can get used to normal mode without too much difficulty, and it’ll be more worth it in the long run.
Note that combos are actually one of the not-as-important aspects of this game, but if you need combo info check out the individual character subforums.

Thanks <Name> :smiley:
I would like to play normal controls, especially since that’s how people do complex combos, but I can’t seem to find the right buttons for Normal combos that I automatically do with simple :c