HF: Ryu

I read through the small HF thread… miss the old ones. :frowning: Anyway, I just started playing HF more recently, along with 3s, so I wanted to get whatever possible info anyone could throw out for me…

Basically, my game so far revolves around cross-ups, and j.hk, c.hp, fierce fb for chip mainly, and throwing out a lot of lp fbs. HK spinkick on reaction to FBs, and c.mk as his biggest poke… any matchup help or basic gameplay tips? Thanks!

Learn the fireball trap…it’s easy and free chip. (slow fireball in corner followed by fast, or another slow…dragon punch if they try to jump out, etc. etc.) If they try to jump out after the slow fireball and you throw the fast one, they eat the fast fireball…and they’re still stuck in the corner.

Also learn the most damaging combos and to do them perfectly every time.
for example: with Ryu in HF, jump in with FP (RH), c. MK XX FP fireball.
or probably the best one is jump in with FP, jump straight up into RH XX hurricane kick.
Umm, kinda rough but sometimes you can land jump in RH/FP, FP XX jab DP.

I guess you know the crossups already so I won’t post those…like you said, Hurricane Kick (HK) has invincibility frames, so it’s really useful against Guile on reaction.

HF is one of the most balanced SF games…and it’s pure fun.
I like to buffer in a fireball after a c. MK poke so if it hits…or even if it doesn’t hit, it’s all good.
It’s also useful for pushing people back into corners…from there you can do Ryu’s fireball trap for massive chip since you can’t super through it like in other SFs. If you’re really good at it, even high level players get caught.

There’s more stuff, but I’m too lazy right now. As far as I know, Ryu doesn’t really have any horrible matchups…although Honda is evil to everyone if he gets in on you. :bluu:

umm Balrog vs. Ryu is pretty horrible for Ryu in HF. Zangief does well against Ryu also. So does Blanka.

Best crossup?