Gen FADC help.

im not sure what im doing wrong, but im having terrible trouble doing fadc combos with gen. i dont know if its really THAT hard to do with gen vs other characters, but i dont have any trouble with really anyone else…

i was trying to just do (move) fadc, lp/c.lp and the person in training would block it everytime.

any tips?

Yeah I have it too even though I mained Gen since forever.

Supposedly, cancelling the 2nd or 4th hit of the hands will be easiest because it gives the most stun. I’m not an expert on this though, as I find using fadc combos (mostly) a waste of my meter with Gen.

try to keep doing it after the fourth hit of hands. i dont think it gives any more advantage than the other hits, but it allows you to develop a rythm easier. your fingers get a slight break from executing hands before the fadc, and always cancelling the same hit will help with muscle memory

Doesn’t the 4th hit of hands whiff on crouchers? I always FADC after the 4th hit too but only on standing opponents.

Also, because at 19 frames Gen’s forward dash is kinda slow (go figure) it’s not a trivial link afterwards; you will want to dash cancel your focus attack on the first possible frame. I hold forward during hands, then tap forward + mp + mk to be sure.

There are reasons why you would want to use FADC combos vs super; with FADC you tend to maximize damage opportunities as you get them, with super you’re limiting your damage (as well as reversals) then waiting for an opportunity to land your super that may never come. Then again the super is more damage efficient if you tack on the ultra and more reliable given that nobody’s execution on fadc combos is perfect.

Probably the most times I whiff follow-ups are when I accidentally FADC on the 3rd hit when I thought I did on the 4th hit, which screws up with my timing.

[media=youtube]Gl9MWEMgeJ0[/media]