Eagle Advanced Strats and Tactics

This thread is for advanced strats and tactics for eagle. If you’re looking for B&B combos, CC’s, or other generic information, go to the bottom of the page and change it to"Show threads from: the beginning." You can also find all the mixups after a punch throw, advanced combo talk for C groove in an old apoc post, and some other really good stuff.

I’m relatively new to eagle myself. I’ve always put him on my “fun” A-groove teams, but I’ve never really considered him for my “business” team.

Without a doubt, eagle’s two best grooves are C and A, in that order.

Here are a few of my questions. They deal primarily with character matchups, and a few other random questions.

-How does eagle fight against vega (claw)? Although vega has some good anti-air’s, eagle’s jump-in’s and air-to-air games are REALLY solid. I think this fight should be approached by jumping at vega, but i’m just not too sure about which attacks i should use to counter which of vega’s AAs. The problem with engaging in a ground game with vega is that he can punish whiffs very easily, can super jump over eagle’s long ranged pokes (which have horrible recovery) and punish, and can jiggle all day and poke sparingly.

-How does eagle fight against bison (psycho crusher)? I’m really inexperienced in this matchup because there aren’t many skilled bisons that i play against. Help would be greatly appreciated on this one.

-Eagle does well against blanka, cammy, and chun li IMO. Blanka can’t jump in, his roll is too slow, and he loses in a poking war. Cammy can’t jump in, her roll is too slow, and she loses in a poking war also. When fighting cammy, just make sure if she gets in close, to block her close standing fierce, (tech hit throws), block her standing roundhouse, then snuff any more advances with crouching mk, and push her back out again. Chun li can’t jump in, loses air to air, and gets outpoked by eagle big time.