Doctor Defense - The zoning and annoying people with Strange thread

Hey guys,

I think it is about time we try and focus more on this side of Strange’s game.

Along these 8 months, we have come a long way in terms of combos, technologies, traps, team sinergy and all that. But we all know that Doc is a projectile-heavy character, and that he was theoretically made keepaway-oriented.

So, this being the case, I wanted to start a segment in our board specially for strategies regarding his space-controlling game. Please feel free to contribute and help.

At least for me so far (I’m not experienced nor keen to zoning, but I’m grinding on it to become a better player) what works with him is to set something I called DPZ, as in Double-Projectile Zoning. Basically I think we all agree so far that EoA is where he starts to take over a matchup, so it is the first thing you would want to set up. Then, again, some projectiles beat the whole eye (like hadoukens or soul fists), meaning you need to protect it. Not to say about dive-kicking-happy characters who will try to come at you from above.

The primarly concept of DPZ is to make a projectile chain in which one of your spells will force the opponent to block just enough for you to set the next one, and so forth. So, after you build an EoA, you can palm it and cancel this IP into another projectile, basically either M-Daggers or M/H-Sword, again depending on the matchup (if the guy can go through the eye or not) and spacing.

Also, much like Dormammu and Morrigan, he’s got teleports and flight (unfortunately not an airdash), allowing Strange to make a ‘mobile keepaway’, changing sides and places in the screen really quick, either to protect an assist (missiles, vajra, whatever) or to simply escape a corner or any pressure situation.