Beat Plane underrated?

I’ve been playing competitively at my arcade for a couple of months now, and what surprised me a lot was that not a lot of people used Beat Plane as they did in MVC1.

Apparently because it was a crappy super, and Hyper Megaman does so much more damage.

But I have found that Beat Plane can be great, provided you time the super right.
Ex: Opponent prepares Ironman Super. You superjump -> Beat Plane. Flyyyy down and mash a bomb to get him out of the super then mash punch.

Against Cookie Cutter teams, of course doing such a move would be rather foolish. (Except against a Sentinel, in my experience)

What is your opinion on Beat plane?

I think it just pends on how u mash it like the open coffin super with anak. if u don’t mash it right it won’t do as good as u want it to and ur just better off doin the for sure damage with the hyper megaman instead of the possible useless super so it’s really up to the player in my opinon + it’s kinda harder to set up sometimes

No.

It just sucks, plane and simple (typo intended). Hyper Megaman generally sucks too, save the meter and just either end with buster or the throw reset.

Beat Plane with meter can accidentally DHC and get you killed. Beat Plane without meter starts up REALLY slowly and finishes a little badly. It’s just not a safe move.

Opponent preparing Ironman Super without covering that is a dumbass. Be even cuter - use Hyper Megaman from superjump air space, and as the downward bombs hit Ironman, DHC. It’s a fun stupid Marvel trick that that works with a surprising amount of supers. =P

I agree if you are facing veteran players, they will make sure to punish you for using beat plane.

What I’ve recently been fooling around with is not mashing anything for a couple of seconds, then when the opponent goes for an attack I just mash the fuck out of everything.

It works against intermediate players, or impatient vets.