Aren't I supposed to be improving?

I’ve been playing this game on the regular for about 3 months now. Been in the lab, playing online, and in the arcade where I work against some pretty good players. However, I’ve been on this massive losing streak online and offline. I feel like the game works against me in some ways and it’s very frustrating because I can’t see myself improving in any fashion. I last longer in fights against better players than I do against scrub Ken players who use random ass playstyles. It’s supposed to be fun, but I don’t feel like I’m learning anything at all, whereas I could sit on GGPO and play ST for hours at a time, and know exactly how to improve upon the mistakes from last game. I know you have to lose before you can start winning, but this is abnormal. Does anyone feel the same at all?

i feel the same.

Dont play ranked. People random is out in ranked because they are too worried about winning points instead of being content with losing but still learning. Points are more important to them than knowledge, so they will do whatever it takes. Getting beat by random scrubs happens to most people, dont worry about it. If you truly want to get better, the only way to do so is by playing with better people, learning to adapt, practicing your execution, and above all, taking every loss with a grain of salt (no pun intended). Use each loss as a tool to better understand what you can do better, why you lost, and what you can do in the same situation next time.

When you cant play at your local scene, playing online is fine, and can be a great tool, as long as youre playing against good people, and have a good connection. Go onto the character subforums and ask if anyone would be willing to run a set with you so you can learn said matchup. Endless lobbies are great when you have good competition, especially if they are willing to talk and share information / tech.

Just keep at it, things will fall into place eventually. Hope this has helped.