Alpha 3 no longer in tournaments?

Since alpha 3 wasn’t in evo does that mean the game is gone from tournament play???

Because I just started to REALLY learn this game and enjoy it and now I find out it’s probably not going to be played competitively. I’m a noob and I was looking forward to maybe doing a tournament or something…:frowning:

yeah its dead in the us totally as far as evolution is concerned. kinda garbage when st still gets play and a3 can draw similar number of players as that game. midwest and ecc still hold a3 tho so thats good. some places hold local tourneys. but its dead for the most part. like st is dead(but still gets play in evo, go figure)

ST is arguably the greatest Street Fighter game ever. It is Capcom fighting in it’s purest form.

The reason it still get’s play in tournaments is because it is the polished version of the Street Fighter 2 series…the series which revolutionized the gaming industry to begin with. It’s a long tradition to have an original SF 2 game in major tournaments because it stands(atleast how I see it)as an homage to the roots of all capcom fighting games.

ST is not a broken game like Alpha 3(aka V-ism fighter). Yeah, its fun and all but once you get into top tournament play you see nothing but V ism.

And before anyone says that ST is all about counter characters, just take a look at the top 2 finishers at EVO2k3. Ryu and Chun Li. Yes, ST has tiers but its a game that doesnt really rely on easy gimmicks like V-ism guard break life draining tactics, or roll cancelling.

ST is a game that hones the basic building blocks of all capcom fighting games…strategy, wits/mind games, and skill.

ST may be dead to you or in your area, but it will never be dead to the legions of gamers out there who play capcom games. It constantly gets tons of play where i live. Like I said before…ST is Capcom fighting in is purest form.