Where do I start in this game?

I just picked it up today and I’m enjoying as I did as I first played it. However, after going through Lesson and Challenge Mode, it was rather confusing for me, so I do not know where to start. I have chosen three characters: Mitsuru, Yukiko, and Chie in that order. Because I’m not very familiar with 2D fighters, I would like to know what is the best character to start out with and comparisons/differences between them. Ultimately, knowing where to start is my first priority, characters second.

Unlike you, I’m experienced with 2D fighters - like you, though, I’m not very experienced with this game, at all.

I’ve dabbled with this and other Arc System Works fighters but never really put in the time with them to really know what I’m doing. For some reason I decided to pick this one back up after barely playing it after release - it got lost in the shuffle - but I like it so I want to at least get down the basics of it.

Thus far what I’d really suggest based on what little time I’ve put in with the game so far, is going into training mode and working on getting your character’s movement down smooth. Air dashes, jump cancels, dash cancels, multiple jumps, turning around in the air, etc etc. Worry about that stuff before worrying about the character specifics and combos and such. From what I’ve seen fluid movement is really key. Or not :slight_smile: Perhaps a more experienced player can offer better advice!

:eek: First thing I would do is to familiarize yourself with the engine.

Learning how to move (airdashing, evasive action, etc.), what options you have in what circumstances (which actions you can perform after super jump, not being able to backdash on wakeup, etc.) and learning about the nuance mechanics like bursting and counterhits. It all sounds extremely basic, but they are important things that don’t change regardless of your character choice.