What is safe?

Hello to all of you!

I am sorry to write a thread on such a general question as this, but I am trying to get into this game, but I don’t understand how to play it compared to other games. I’ve been playing fighters since 2004 and am quite decent at USF4, but feel like a complete noob in this game.

What I don’t understand in this game is that everything my opponents do feels safe and spammable, yet all my stuff feels easily punishable and useless.

Here’s my team:

Clark:

• Mash punches: Low range, punishable. What’s the use?
  • Charge punch: Decent range, slow, easily punished. What’s the use except for comboing?
  • Special grabs seem strong.

Ralf:

• Mash punches: Low range, punishable. What’s the use?
  • Charge punch: Decent range, slow, easily punished. What’s the use except for comboing?
  • QCF+C seems like a good tool for pressure and combos.
  • QCB+A seems ok for corner combos, C or AC seems like decent anti air.

Terry:

• Knuckle: Easily punished, decent for combos. What else?
  • His other specials and normals seem decent and easy to use. So far I have more success with Terry than the others.

Now, I keep meeting players who just spam things, and here’s what I feel:

Kim: Air axe kick special seems like it is 100% safe and unpunishable so he can just spam it over and over.
Kula: “Kukrekurutta” seems spammable and also feels like I am on negative frames after blocking.
King: Tornado kicks: Unpunishable at all ranges?
Goro: Spam low jump Knockback attack beats everything and gets wallbounce if I try to antiair it.

Also, in general I lose to people who spam air Knockdowns. What can I do against that except meet them halfway with my own version and get a hit trade?

I would appreciate if you would like to help me understand what I am supposed to do with stuff like this. In most fighting games I feel like I lose to a superior player. In KOF it just feels like I lose to single moves that I can’t stop.