Vs Ken

Can I get any tips on this matchup? Very annoying IMO. Out of the Shotos, including E.Ryu, Ken gives me the most trouble. What should I be doing in this match up? Things to avoid? Etc.

Round up his main tools first - Kara grab, Step-Kick, sweep, Thunder Kick. I’m pretty new to Adon as a whole so I’m just theory fighting to be honest but I’ll see what I can think up.

Most Kens want you at the range they can threaten both the Step-Kick and fireball to work their way in, if you close that gap slightly and Jag Kick/jump over a fireball or Step-Kick attempt you’re in his face immediately, and can go for throw/low/Rising Jaguar. Always be weary of the kara grab, that thing catches me off guard way too much and I even play Ken, it’s just too good and the range is deceptive. I’ve always liked neutral jumps in neutral to try and tag Step-Kicks into a confirm. St.hk might actually beat out Ken’s cr.mk but I’m not too confident on that one at all, I’d honestly just not bother engaging in a footsies war because Ken has dominance in that area, I’d try to IAJK/grounded Jag Kick into his close range and threaten tick throws and frame traps, seems your best bet to shut off Ken’s offensive options. I always get scared to get cornered by a Ken because I find his grab game gets even scarier there, but that’s just a personal quirk of mine…avoid the corner in general regardless. Obviously after the buffs Adon received in Ultra you always want the corner yourself as you can land a lot more damage from combos there, how you go about getting a Ken to give up screen and walk him there is another thing entirely.

Off the top of my head, only have about 3 days worth of Adon behind me, just spontaneous theory fighting.