The ongoing history of the GTASF

We have a lot of new faces in the GTASF nowadays. SFIV has brought what appears to be a second coming to the SF world. If there’s one thing I’ve noticed from new kids is that they’re interested in the history of the scene. I’m creating this thread for people who have been here from the competitive get go to lend their input and tell their stories. Share history and memories. Share drama, road trips, good and bad times. I only ask that players respect the thread and what’s in it. If you’re an idiot, I’ll delete the post. With that being said, I’ll start with the city I called home.

BRAMPTON (1991 - 1996)

I’ve been playing SF essentially since 1991. Street Fighter II first hit Brampton in a local Beckers (corner of Williams Parkway & Torbram). The convenience store made very little money but that cabinet was never without competition. I was 10 at the time and thought myself an OK player. I was not an OK player. That cabinet along with essentially all cabinets as they cropped up in Brampton between 1991 and 1998 were dominated by two players. Garrett Grant was a tall lanky black guy. He crushed everyone. It wasn’t even close. The guy simply had a mind for SF. The #2 guy and from what I could tell Garrett’s best friend was a kid named Jason Ciani. Some of the old heads out of Toronto will probably recognize the name. When he was 18 or 19 he moved from Brampton to Scarborough. The last time I saw Jason was at T3 and he was known by a fair amount of the TOSF VA/VF regulars. In any case these two ran the show.