Tekken Player Coming To Street Fighter

Okay, SFV looks too good not to play so I picked up USFIV on PS3. I am quite good at Tekken, but I have never even really touched SF before. Like, I am a complete noob, couldn’t get any n00bier if my life depended on it. I have seen a whole punch of videos and read quite a few things. Figure I will start with Ryu because that seems to be the general go to “new player” character. My question I guess is, where do I start? Do I need to know all the combos or should I start studying match ups? If it matters, my execution on stick is proficient. Don’t have a problem with qcfs or dragon punches. Just a little lost on where to begin.

Since I have no idea about where you stand, I’ll try to give some general advice:

• learn to anti-air. Probably the most important thing to start out with, since you can get (and avoid) a lot of easy damage from that
  • Learn 2-3 easy meterless combos. You usually don’t need more than that to start out. Expand that repertoire when you’ve got a feel for the basic combos
  • Learn to use normals to control space. This is pretty hard to explain without knowing how well you understand the neutral game, however. One thing I can mention is that unlike Tekken, a lot of moves recover really fast, so whiff punishment works very differently. I can expand a bit on this if you’d like.
  • Learn some basic mix-ups. High/low, crossup/non-crossup, throw/frametrap, etc. Safe pressure is also a good thing to know.

I think the more important thing to learn coming from Tekken is learning how fundamentals in a 2D fighter that uses links and cancels instead of canned strings works (such as focusing more on controlling space, over raw frame data application).

I’ve never played Tekken outside of arcades about 8 years ago, but d3v’s right on your focus being on controlling space in a 2d plane. I wish I remember the name of that old series of videos that went over fundamentals in SFII.