Street Fighter and Copyright Law

I’m not sure where to put this, so I’m putting it here because there was a small discussion in the FGD thread on S-Kill getting a job with Capcom; just move this wherever if it’s in the wrong spot. The previous discussion was about whether stickmaking, Street Fighter videos, and putting music on SF vids constituted copyright infringement. I’d argued that stickmaking and SF vids were fair use and not copyright infringement and that putting copyrighted music on SF vids was probably not fair use. I’m a law student at a big law school in Washington DC emphasizing in copyright, technology, and internet law, and I just got out of speaking with my Copyright professor about this. Turns out I was right on some stuff and wrong on other stuff.

My thoughts on stickmaking:

My professor’s thoughts: He agreed that this is generally fair use, that the Sega case says doing this is generally fine. However, if there were any hacking of the controller chips, or if someone created new wires or otherwise changed how the controller actually functions (not just the input mechanisms, like buttons and stick, which are fine), the question gets a little murkier, and he didn’t really have a good answer. If, like in the 360 controller, there’s proprietary software involved, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) might forbid hacking the controller to make a new stick, although it might also be that this fits under the DMCA’s reverse engineering exception. So stickmaking is totally legal under normal circumstances like making a case and putting in the pcb of a PS2 controller or buying something like the T5 stick and just changing the buttons and joystick; anything else, like hacking an Xbox 360 pad or adding new functionality to the controller, well, nobody knows if that’s legal or not.

My thoughts on SF vids: