Specific question about restrictor gates and input errors (diagonals)

Hi,

I’m just getting started with fightsticks and recently got a Qanba Q1, and am noticing that I do diagonal jumps without meaning to fairly often. I currently have an octagonal gate in it and am wondering if switching to a square gate would help me to keep that from happening. Does the square gate mean that I have to move my stick a little more to register a diagonal input?

I have no preference about gates, I just want to stop accidentally jumping from DP or SRK so often until I eventually decide to upgrade the joystick.

Thanks

How long have you been playing on arcade sticks? It just sounds like an execution error that you can iron out through practice and experience, and not some sort of mechanical defect.

Square gate might or might not feel better to you. It’s all personal preference really. I can’t stand playing on an octogate and prefer square gates, but many other people are the opposite. It just depends on what you’re used to.

No, the square gate doesn’t mean you have to move your stick further to hit corners. It’s a misconception that the stick activates whenever you hit the edge of the gate. It activates earlier than that, but the gate is sort of there to guide you with certain motions. It’s important to get into the habit of not ‘riding the gate’ or moving the stick purely along the edges for most of your motions.

Thanks for the quick response,

I’m totally new to using sticks so it sounds like I might be better off just using the square gate then because it isn’t as easy to drag it against the side for the srk motion since that is what I end up doing some of the time.

Go for it if you want. Just don’t think that it’ll magically make you an execution god. Whatever gate you use, it’s still going to take some time and practice to work it properly.