Soldering/button problem

I’m sorry if my debacle already has an answer but I’ve been searching forums for days, I’m wondering, when I’m soldering a button to a tp spot, and it’s ground, should it do different inputs as well as the one the tp spot is for before all the buttons are soldered? I’m quite demoralized by this as this is my first time making a stick.

Depends on most of the factors you haven’t spelled out. We’re happy to help, but with the limited information you put up, the only correct answer is “maybe”. Be detailed and specific if you would like detailed and/or specific answers.

ok ill spill. im soldering an a sixaxis pcb (msu v2.5 1.05) ive looked at the tp spots thread and i think even tho my pcb board doesnt look exactly like the v2 the person there said that they (v2 and V2.5 1.05) have the same tp spots. im having a hard time reading where the tp spots are because the lettering on the right of the board where all the tp spots are is quite cluttered. ill give my exact example. im soldering to what i think is com 2 (tp26) to what i think is x (tp32). im kinda rigging it as i go so im only doing ps button (which works just fine) and what i think is x. when i connect those points on my switch, i switch the controller to my pcb. (im in training mode on ssf4) i can exit the pause menu by pressing what i think is x and i exit properly but when i go to press it in-game my character taunts. why is that? i hope i got my question across this time i was just hoping to get a response in a timely manner

Where are the two wires for the PSX button connected to on the pad? (pictures good, tp number and a picture of what the tp’s are mapped to is ok, ‘name’ of what its connected to is poor)
Did you solder the two resistors you’d need to the board?
Is the common for the PSX button the same one you’re using for X?
Button config set to default?
What does input display say?