Sabertooth assists?

Newbie question-

This is the one where he summons Birdie. who shoots the three (3) slow-moving rounds at the opponent.

Is is assist useful? I heard that Saber had an assist that, in conjunction with Spiral at point, would be very useful for locking down. Or is it Saber’s (a) assist? I forget.

I’m starting to use Sabertooth myself these days (he charges like a mofo, which helps out my Silver Samurai or Cable), and so been getting to play against other people’s Sabertooth. The Spiral/Sabertooth (projectile assist) combo I saw today (tourney casual play) didn’t seem that effective… the Spiral/Storm teams I’ve played against seemed way more effective.

You can do ghetto lock-down with TBonne/Sabes projectile too - it’s pretty much the same technique as you’d use with TBonne Sent.

Hey I just started learning MvC2 the other week and I’ve been playing alot of Venom/Juggy/Sabretooth. I think Sabes is a great partner for alot of characters, as Sabes’ alpha assist launches back towards you and gives you some great damage combos such as:

Juggernaut
-jp+sabes alpha assist, fp, Sabes assist launches, c.short,c.fierce, SJ, sj.short,sj.forward,sj.roundhouse.
[79 damage]

or Venom
-jp+Sabes assist, mk, sabes hits, fp web throw
[40-50 damage]

Also, Sabes projectile assist gives characters some nice coverage for attacks, especially ones with bad lag like Juggy’s.

this trap would be useful in the days before guard cancel. that shit ruins the trap completly :frowning: