Ryu/Ken/Akuma

Hello, new here :slight_smile:

I was wondering aside from the fireball and dragon punch, what are the differences (finer ones) between Ken, Ryu and Akuma? I’m just getting into SF3: 2nd Strike. What types of players would use each character?

Akuma has far more combos and traps. He’s also harder than Ken and Ryu to use.

Ken has SAIII which can be linked from just about anything.

Ryu is the most balanced and I’m pretty sure his attacks are the strongest as far as normals are concerned but he is the slowest.

Ryu tends to be the beginners choice and some cases average level players as well.

Ken tends to be an easy way for beginners to win against other beginners… some get better with him and thats why he’s top tier. The beginner tactics only go so far but plenty of high level players learn him thoroughly and use him.

Akuma tends to be something beginners experiment with because they like to turtle with his air fireball. Advanced players rush down with him and will get you in a corner and not stop. There really are no average Akuma players that can win. He’s a character you have to really know how to use much more so than Ken or Ryu.

Got it, thanks. So I should be working with Akuma for the long run then?

i wouldn’t suggest starting with Akuma… he has pitiful stun resistance and a very little ammount of life. he also has no EX moves which will lead you to think that they’re useless when you move onto other characters, because you’re not familiar with EX moves…

it’s hard to know how to play offensive when you’re just starting to play… i suggest you try ken. his speed/vitality/dmg is balanced and he makes good use of this EX moves.

but since you said 2nd impact… i think the EX moves stuff doesn’t apply to you

akuma is fanboys and scrubs personal pick:bluu:

and they still thinks " AKUMA IS SOO COOOL !!! "

which end up …

" WTF ?? HE BEAT ME FOR ABOUT 19 SECONDS !!?? "

for serious player picking akuma… it’s really possibly a shock and awe