Questions about arcade stick techniques

I recently started playing with an arcade stick but sometimes I don’t push the joystick far enough toward the diagonal, so I think I’m blocking low but I’m not. To get around this, I’ve been riding the gate while blocking so as to make sure I actually am blocking. Is that practical? Also, when playing on the right side of the screen, I have a tendency to use shortcut motions for QCFx2 and DP motions. I’ve heard some veteran players say you shouldn’t use shortcut inputs, but I don’t really understand why that is. Could someone please explain? Also, is it a bad idea to map the two extra buttons to 3P and 3K, because I’ve been doing that too but I’m not sure I should.

Thanks in advance.

What stick do you have? If you have a MadCatz arcade stick you can easily get a better gate for the stick. I have a MadCatz SE stick that I basically gave the full Sanwa overhaul to. I replaced the stick with a Sanwa JLF-TP-8YT-SK, then added an octagonal gate and replaced all the buttons with Sanwa OBSF-30 30mm snap in buttons. All of which I got from LizardLick:

Lizard Lick Amusements

As far as your technique goes, that’s something you’re going to have to develop yourself. But I am always riding the gates on my stick to make sure I am in the correct position. The only times I don’t actually hit the gate is when I’m inputting a dash command. For that I just quickly flick the stick twice. All you need to hear is the “click” of the actuator on the stick to know you’ve input a command.