Question to mid-level Balrog (and other charge character) players

Hey guys,

I am pretty new to fighting game (picked up this game long time ago, but didn’t play much until recently). Just recently started playing Balrog. Enjoy his style and the feel, but I was having hard time with some combos. I am usually able to link cr. lp with cr. lk so that I can finish up with headbutt or rush punch, but for the life of me, I could never seem to pull out those lp hk/hp and sweep links even in training sessions. Do you guys feel that these jab-sweep links are necessary to master?

I circle around 500 - 1000 pp (pretty green I know) and mostly win playing fundamental footsies, cheap shots with Balrog’s dash attacks, and of course, whenever headbutt connects, combo with his ultra. I am seeming to hit the dead end and am trying to get better. Does anybody have any recommendation on how to improve his game?

Someone I know actually suggested since I am such a beginner, I should try a character like Ryu or Guile instead. Especially with Guile, I heard as long as you play carefully and zone well, you don’t even necessarily need to pull out link combos and just able to punish well. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Yes, Jab into Sweep is absolutely necessary for him imo.

Are you on psn?

Ryu or Ken would work well for you. If you want to stick with Rog, everyone here such as myself,Jav1ts, and 3n1gmatic will be glad to help.

Any questions sir?

KSK_2Serious