Quest for a Universal Fightstick - Advice?

I’m fairly new to making fightsticks and need a little direction. I need a stick that will support my supergun, which has a DB15 connection, modern home consoles and then it would also be cool to support various retro consoles as well.

I’ve tried to do some research with options and came-up with the following, but some advice would be appreciated:

• The ‘project box’ path to achieving this seems daunting and I would rather have everything in the stick itself…
  • The Brooks UFB + Retro Board seem like a decent path and there is even a special connector to connect them together, but it sounds like the retro board may be inferior to the MC Cthulhu?
  • No clue on how to go about the DB15 connection.
  • Not sure if it makes more sense to try to add some type of switch to flip between the three connections or if it’s possible to push a special key combination to select which board to use.
  • Any guides on how to wire this all up would be awesome.

Thanks!

MC Cthulhu is an older project which only has minimal support, no new updates as it’s original creator is no longer active. The Retro Board is actively supported and is getting frimware updates.

The Retro Board + The Brooks UFB has a soft switch, you press a button combination to flip between the two, it’s in the Retro Board’s documentation.

If you just doing the The Brooks UFB + Retro Board the wiring is easy, there is even a small kit that links to two together, both have 20 pin headers that can be connected to each other via Ribbon cable, they have a USB cable that bridges the two together. Plus both boards come with documentation on how to wire it all up.