Problem with turtling shotos

Hey guys! I recently started playing this again on PC and am working my way up the ranks. I have good and bad games, but one of the things that I run into a lot online is the constantly-turtling shoto player. I feel like they just have so many good options for turtling, and have a really hard time getting in on them. How do you guys do it, or what’s generally the best way to handle a turtling shoto player? I don’t even mean the ones that throw fireballs, just the guys that sit there and hold down/back and wait for your approach for the entire match.

Also, as a Blanka players do you encounter hardcore turtles online often, or is it just a general thing?

First off, there are matchup threads - check those.

In terms of battling shotos, like any opponent, spacing is key, especially with Blanka. Tend to stay outside of cr. mk range for Ryu and toward mk for ken. Optimal range is where you can slide a fireball on reaction and stuff any jumpins. Also, unless the opponent is no good or there is crazy lag, ball into throw will not work. Still amazes me how often I see this for impatient Blankas who want to get in. Don’t jump around like a noob and be cognizant that you don’t have to attack.

That is the single biggest thing, even more so as a Blanka player. If someone wants to turtle you, if you have the life lead, there is no need to attack. It’s not the most fun process, but timeouts are your friend. If you are looking for some agro character, Blanka isn’t for you - pick a divekick character. Not all matches are glamorous combo videos. At high level play, it is a war of attrition - you need to be patient and wait for the opponent to make a mistake so you can setup your mixups.

This is what I usually do against a turtling shoto.

I usually test their reactions, and if you mix it up well you should be able to corner them.

1. Test their reaction against LP/MP ball
    a. do they interupt you? if so with what moves?