Pinky for button press (stick)?

Hey all,

I’ve been working on sfv for a couple years now trying to get better execution on a fight stick. And one question I keep having is, should I use my pinky to press buttons?

Full disclosure; my hands a not big. ( yeah, yeah ). So for me, hitting buttons with a single finger does not work well ( I often skim it ). I do the two-finger press instead, with index-middle on lights, middle-ring on mediums, and ring-pinky on heavies. It works ok, but I have real difficulty getting my pinky down into the HK position.

Recently I tried double tapping and I like that a lot for links, but I cannot for the life of me do it with my ring-pinky on the heavy buttons. The pinky is just too gimpy!

So Ian wondering, should I give up on the pinky altogether and use middle-ring for heavy buttons? This means I would need to move my hand out of position, but maybe it’s worth it for better hits. Do you guys use your pinky? I was watching videos of Momochi, Wong and Tokido, seems like they might not use it. They definitely double tap too…

Thoughts?

contrary to popular belief among beginners, there isnt always a single correct way to do things. some people press the lights simultaneously by flattening out their index finger. others use the index and thumb.

muscularity and nerve innervation of the hand will always have the pinky be weaker than the thumb, index, and middle, but how you use them is a matter of preference. ultimately, this is going to be 98% involuntary anyway. sometimes, in a demanding situation, i’ll use my pinky to hit HK when i otherwise wouldnt. its done purely on demand without conscious intent.

if your hands are really that dainty then you could get a custom made with 24 mm buttons for the main attacks.