Persona 4 arena guide in discussion

Hello, I’m new to persona 4 arena and i now understand the basic controls such as weak, strong and persona weak,strong also using evasive action and I am going to try getting used to using the burst when I am being combo’d however I am not to strong in combos, I mainly use the auto combo but I also have 1 combo for Kanji,Yu and Akihiko. One of my other weakness’ is getting in on my opponent, I have a bad habit of using the evasive action but it does not work so well I have no idea how I should get in on my opponent. Lastly I am unaware of any mix-ups or what to do against button mashers.
a small guide giving information on all these would be very appreciated :slight_smile: (if possible please include the combos,how to get in on opponent,mix ups and strategy for button mashers for all characters please)

Hi,

First of all, it’s going to help if you stick to one character and learn all their ins and outs, because every matchup plays differently. Approaching with Kanji is much different than approaching with Akihiko or Yu. You want to focus on one character and solidify your understanding of their options.

Second of all, you’re basically asking for “everything”. Matchup strategy, combos, and setups for every character is a bit outside the scope of a single post. However, http://www.dustloop.com is a great resource where you can find all of the combos for your chosen character, and get help with matchups. I would advise going there.

Other than visiting Dustloop and choosing a main character, I think you should try to play other people and identify your weaknesses. Don’t get too bogged down with learning all of the advanced combos; even autocombo is alright for a beginner, that’s why it’s there. Spend your training mode time learning the range of your character’s normals, and learning how to hitconfirm. Then play other people and see where you fall short.

Good luck!