Oni set up threads

Hey there SRK!

This is my first time posting here so please be gentle.

I wanted to start a set up thread for Oni.

I find it really saddening that I can’t find any of his set ups online and hopefully this thread will be the go-to when other Oni players like myself look for genuine set ups.

I am mainly after set ups after for e.g a heavy tatsu or a low stomp that will make DPs whiff or outright forces people to block on wake up.

Also does anyone have any ambigious set ups for him? Obviously his slashes are not going to cut it and we need a set up that keeps people guessing.

Please any help is appreciated!

I know this is an old thread, but I would like to bump it as well. That’s because I wanna learn these as well and I feel like that’s something I’m lacking. I’m lacking all kinds of setups. This was made painfully obvious to me when facing a very good Gouken.

I just found bmphp stomp (lk or mk) dash forward neutral jump is safe for 5 frame reversals.

This is also fairly safe for 4 frame reversals but it all depends on your timing and how well they mash srk.

I know it works of decapre’s stinger.

Unfortunately oni’s only safe jumps are in the corner after forward throw.

You can get jump hk to cross up after Tatsu jump in on some big characters mid screen.

Is that really his only safe jump option in the corner?

If that is…I’m wondering how the hell do some of these Oni players do so well. I been watching Wao videos because I feel he has probably one of the most fundamentally and optimized damage dealers in the game. Sanford and OMH are close behind him as well. I do know that comboing into Ground Pound is a good thing to have in the arsenal. I’m having trouble with b.mp> GP. I mainly get slashes, but I would like to know some good setups midscreen and from the starting point of it all.