Noob Iori help, suggestions much apprecited

I’m a college student rookie fighting gamer. My team is somewhat modeled after Buktooth’s–N-Iori/Chun-li/Hibiki. I like Chun-li because of her pokes and easily bufferable supers and I consider her to be safer than my sucky Morrigan.

There is one CvS2 player at my school that I consider worth playing, but he severely beats me in almost every bout. His main team is K-Cammy/Yamazaki/Geese. His Yama and Geese aren’t so much the trouble, it’s really Cammy. In Buktooth’s guide he says how the matchup is in favor of Iori, but I really can’t handle her. Even ratio one takes out both Iori and Chun-li before Hibiki can take her out.

Even if I throw ground fireballs, he can probably punish me quickly by taking to the air (he really favors the hooligan combination, most often canceled into kick). Once he’s close, it’s over. Cammy’s standing fierces and roundhouses start guard crushing me while I block helplessly, and he mixes up with suplex throws in the corner. I have absolutely no defense besides trying random wakeup uppercuts like a moron. I can waste a stock with a counter roll, but I don’t even know how helpful that would be, especially since I like to use Iori as a battery for Chun-li to use on Hyoko sens.

So, I’m definitely not pro material, and barely scrub material, but I can roll cancel up to 50% on my best day. That being said, I can spend lots of time practicing, but I’m not sure what to work on. I have another big match with this guy in a week, and I want to devote lots of time towards beating him. For now I’ll work on getting all the character bnb’s, RC moves, misc stuff like scum gale setups and stuff down.

I would appreciate any and all input. You can flame me, as long as there is constructive criticism in there. Or even if there isn’t :sweat: