Ninjitsu = Kung-fu-sion - A Kage thread

I open this thread in hopes that Kage players chime in to share their knowledge.

He seems like a complicated character with delayables, stances, etc. He also seems to have a thing for jumping around and confusing the opponent in all kinds of ways.

Haha thank god (or shuntsurigi) I was beginning to think this would never happen! Been learning Kage for a week or so out of VF2 loyalty, I think he epitomises the VF way of winning lots of mini battles, without many easy high damage combos. Work for that damage! Thinking of my top ten moves… will post when I’ve made my mind up.

After Evo i will probably be switching to this character so I will contribute more to this thread, but i will be watching till then :slight_smile:

I’m still learning but the little that I do know has allowed me to win a few matches, so I’ve decided to share this information. The more experienced Kage players can correct me if need be. This is based on my own personal observations:

Top 10 moves (IMO)

P,K - NC (Natural combo). Great punisher (P executes in 11 frames). Leaves Kage at +5 on hit. Can transition to Shippujin stance (P+K+G after K).

f+P - 14 frame mid. Keeps crouchers humble. Can transition to Jumonji stance (hold P), or Shippujin (P+K+G).

D,df+P - great move from crouch position, especially when used from a crouch dash. Launches on CH. Safe on block.

d+P+K/d+P+K,K - 16 frame mid. The first hit is safe on block and has great range. Can transition to Shippujin (P+K+G after d+P+K). NCC (Natural combo on counterhit). The full string is typically used as a combo ender, as it is very unsafe on block.

d+K+G - 16 frame mid. Half-circular. Safe on block (-8). Great whiff punisher.

b+P/b+P,K - 13 frame half-circular high attack. +3 on hit, +1 on block. Can transition to Jumonji stance (hold P) or Shippujin (P+K+G after P). b+P,K is a great punisher, but if the kick is blocked, Kage is at -13, so use this wisely.