Newbie Oro.

I am a newbie. I picked up Oro about 3 days ago, and so far I think I’ve been making decent progress. I’m dashing in a lot more freely now which makes setting up grabs a lot easier. I’ve got the basics down on the chicken combo, but I’m struggling with ways to set not only that up but also the command grab. I only do it on wake up and the better players will either block it or parry, and then I’m in a world of shit.

Any tips or pointers would be greatly appreciated, and if you are an Xbox Live user, add me and we can get a few matches on the go. My Gamertag is the same as my name on here. Pedderrs.

Thanks guys.

don’t get frustrated and stick with oro. he’s a fun character but he plays very unorthodox and it can be kind of hard in a sense to get the hang of his play style. he doesn’t really have any hit confirms and a lot of his stuff isn’t safe. don’t always go for the loop or the mk xx c.grab after a knockdown. go for mostly single hits, high/low mix ups with normals and don’t worry about combos so much. there’s some frame trap kinda stuff you can go for like st.lp into cl.mp or st.lp into st/c.mk xx c. grab but you can also stand a bit away from them and go for kara grab, kara uoh, or st. hp overhead. meaty uoh can set up your combos but oro is just a risky style character. you have to get creative with him. back dash and then immediately forward dash and stuff like that. my favorite is instant air chicken stomp over head. if they reversal you’re almost always safe. if they throw they get hit, if they block low or wake up attack they get hit. if they block high you’re fucked.