New tournanent organizer (noob questions)

Hello.

Hello I want to try to be a local fight game tournament organizer. because I know I tend to be long-winded I’ll break them up into easy chunks that you could choose to either look at or skip.

minigolf TO history and a way to make it pay

I’ve had some experience in the past organizing miniature golf tournament as a made-for-tv show mainly as entertainment and the socialized my fellow high schoolers back in the day.

I was never that good at the later games but I would have loved to compete in Street Fighter II with my right-handed joystick back when I was in high school.

However we mainly my dad lost money because we weren’t sure about how to legally collect fees and stay legal.

what I know about legalities if tournanemts

Since then I figured out a couple ways to do it. I heard in many states Ohio being one of them video game competitions for money where people pay money to enter and potentially win money or the things of value are legal in states where gambling is strictly defined as having an element of luck, therefore if it could be proven that video game results are determined 100% by you and your opponent’s actions then video game tournaments are legal to both hold and have the organizer take a cut for his time and promotion. I found out that way talking about it with Kenny Rosrmblatt of Arcadium. I found out that they had to change their methods entirely when online gaming involved interstate commerce there for federal rules applied and federal rules did not have the zero luck exclusion. show all gaming where people pay money to try to win money is illegal online.

But physical tournaments in venue are legal on a state-by-state basis if the video games can be proven to have zero luck elements in the strictest States, and in more lenient States not give a significant advantage due to luck.