New to Zangief. Really stuck

Hey all,

I recently started playing SFV and I am enjoying it quite a bit. I decided i would try and main Zangief after playing a few of the characters and watching a few tournaments. I like the fact he is big and bulky and can output good damage.

I have been looking over the forums here reading about his move-set and different combos and I am just really stuck in figuring out which combos I should be learning. I think I heard the term Bread and Butter combos so was wondering what are some of Zangief’s BnB combos?

Also when I was playing some Ryu I was told to spam shoryuken when waking up in order to catch my opponent off guard and get in some good damage and I was just wondering if there is an equivalent for Zangief?

Another problem I am having is when I am trying to perform his CA I always end up jumping. Is there any other way I can perform this so it actually comes out and lands?

Finally after a few fights online I always end up loosing because once the other person gets in my face and starts attacking me I don’t know what to do so I end up just blocking… Badly. What should I be doing in this situation?

Thanks all and sorry for all the text and noobie questions :slight_smile:

P.S What would be a good beginner fight stick that’s not too expensive because i hate the feel of using the pad for this game

1. Doing a CA without jumping means you have to buffer the pad/stick motions while you are doing another move. Good ones to practice on are Forward MK and Vskill (MP+MK). Once you have that down you can move into more advanced stuff like buffering it into a dash. .

2. Getting cornered or “put in the blender” is very tough with this iteration of Gief. He has no go-to reversals to punish the opponent for getting so aggressive. If you think they are coming with a grounded attack, you can cr LP, if you think they are going to the air you can try a quick Air SPD. If you think they are gonna throw, tech it.