New to the game?

I just the game and wanted to try out laura, its my first time playing a real fighting game, i have found videos about frame data but i’m confused about what ppl mean by season 1 and season 2 of the game? I know she’s a grab character but how do you play her and stuff?

Season 1 and Season 2 refer respectively to the version of the game we got at launch and to the new version we got on December 20th. The S2 balance patch changed a lot of things for many characters frame data wise and Laura was one of those who benefited the most from that.

To make things short, Laura is a rushdown grappler whose main goal is to stay close to the opponent and pressure him with mixups and frame traps. She has many way to score a knockdown - ground hit throws, anti-air hit throws, regular grabs and command grab - that will prevent the opponent from backrolling and therefore lead into vortex setups.
Unlike the other grapplers who really revolve around command grabs and get the best pressure out of them, her command grab is really but a mixup tool in a diverse moveset including frame traps, command dashes, lows, overheads and fireballs. Her quintessential tool is actually the EX fireball - on block it puts the opponent into a 50/50, on hit it launches him in the air and allows you to reset into another set of mixups.
Since she’s so powerful up close but moves slowly and has short range, most of her time is spent trying to find a way to get closer to the opponent that will do whatever he can to not let her in. This can be achieved in many ways: by landing a CC with her st. HK/HP, by going through projectiles and ill-spaced normals with EX bolt (and now in S2 with EX command grab too), by anti-airing them and finally by shielding yourself with your own projectile to be able to move forward.