New to Street Fighter. Can I put American style parts in a MadCatz SE?

I’m a total noob, and I really don’t like the Japanese style convex buttons, nor do I like the ball top or square gate. It will take me a long time to get used to it, and I was thinking maybe I should just get some Happ parts or something. Is this an easy task, or will I have to make a stick from scratch?

Some people have really short tempers around here, read the FAQ’s this is all answered and it will keep you from asking questions that are common knowledge and been asked a thousand times.

Well, Seimitsu buttons are stiffer than the Sanwa OSBF(and Madcatz’s clones), but are still convex(but barely, they are almost flat). As for the joystick, you can always get a Bat Top and a stiffer spring to make it feel more American. A lot of people put the LS-32 spring inside of the JLF spring for added stiffness, but if you want it really stiff I think it is an LS-40 or LS-52 spring you want(you’ll have to check on that, I am hoping someone else can hop in and correct me). You honestly can’t put happ parts in that case as there isn’t enough space.

You’ll probably want to purchase an actual JLF as well assuming you want to buy the Spring and Buttons, but it is your call.

As for the gate, you have two options, one is the Octagonal GT-Y gate, and the other is Toodles’ GT-C circular gate, which will feel much more American to you(if you ever noticed, Happ Joysticks move in a circle, not an octagon) so I would recommend the circular gate, but personally I would stick with the square and adapt to it.