New To SS4AE

Hey All! :smiley:

I’m new to SS4AE and had a quick question.
A couple of friends and I recently decided to get into SS4AE, when we are together we generally spend our time between online play and training room practice.

Tonight only one of my buddies came, so we spent an incredible amount of time in the Training Room (pretty much just sparring (not sure if this is what its referred to, but basically just endlessly fighting, trying to land combos on a target that is doing the same, but not having to worry about things like meters and health, etc)); I realized that there is a point when it actually becomes a bit counter productive to do this; you get used to your partner’s play style and start developing strategies specific to their character and their play style.

I think the ideal situation would be for us to both know every bread and butter combo of every character and just spend some time trying out combos and defense strategies against what is commonly used in the meta-game. However that is most likely beyond the scope of our skill level, not to mention, if we were to attempt it, it would take an incredible amount of time to get to the point where we would actually benefit from training like that.

So my question is, with friends, what do you guys find to be the most efficient way to practice together?
So far, I think our most efficient use of time has been to try some combos out in the training room, spar for a bit, do some online fights, analyze our losses, and then go back to the training room to try and strengthen our weaknesses.

Thanks for any input!

Holy shit they made an AE version of Samurai Shodown 4?!

Versus mode.