New Sagat player here, wanted to ask Sagat players what they think of the character

I’m switching over to Sagat since Bison will seemingly forever be shafted by Capcom. Basically want to know are you guys generally frustrated with Sagat? If you could do it all over again, would you pick Sagat again? Also, it’s very strange coming from a character that has excellent normals and pokes to one who relies principally on fireballs with slow normals and mediocre range. As Sagat, do you generally want to avoid close combat situations? Or can he hold his own up close? If so, what are the best attacks for close range? Finally, is there a published list of Sagat’s block strings and frame traps anywhere? Thanks!

Funny I see you posting here. I was going to pick up Bison until I read your posts lol.

I’ve been playing Sagat seriously for about 2-3 months. I had a pocket Sagat in vanilla, but then again, who didn’t? Hopefully the more experienced Sagats will answer after me.

Me personally, the only frustrating thing with Sagat is the risk/reward factor when a character gets in Sagat’s dead zone. This is an area that his normals don’t reach and fireballs are unsafe. As a Sagat player, sometimes you just gotta YOLO unsafe low tiger shots cause that’s the only way you can keep people from walking in on you. I’ve seen top level Sagats like Ryan Hart and Bonchan throw like 4 or 5 in a row and NOT get jumped on. If you do get jumped on, you’ll get knocked down AFTER losing up to 40% at the most.

His normals are good considering, but some characters have buttons that shit on his (dudley, rose, chun) so staying close range all the time isn’t where Sagat wants to be all the time. Sagat can hold his own up close if it’s on his own terms though.

That comeback factor though. 2 bars and ultra will keep people on the ground. And it’s very satisfying to watch someone try over and over again to get close to you only to send them back to the other side of the screen.