New player LF advice regarding Defense

Hello everybody.

I am fairly new to SF series i picked it up a couple of months ago and i’m having a blast even though i got much to learn. However i want to improve.
At the moment i play 2 character Gouken and Juri. I enjoy both and in all honesty i kinda do better with Gouken, he has more health , better damage and overall better defense however i really want to learn Juri also.

I learned a few basic combos and punish combos but i think my biggest problem in this game is defense. I’m having a hard time getting people off me and it’s a real pain having to deal with mix ups when i get knocked down.
Another problem i have is , trying to figure out how to open up people,almost all my cross ups get blocked and vs most characters i feel like i get outpocked ( i usually store as light fuhajin and try to connect it via medium kick ).

I may sound like i am complaining a lot, but i just wanted to describe my problems. Any advice and criticism is greatly appreciated.How can i improve my defense ? !

Thanks for reading and have a nice day :smile:

PS : I’m floating around 2000 PP on ,i think the highest i had was 2500 with a bit of luck. ( so u may know around what lvl of skill i play now )

Work on her other pokes ranges would be my best advice (fs.mp is cancelable and has great range, cr.mp has active frames for days and stuffs a lot of shit, st.lk has really good range for the speed). She’s got great tools for footsies, but does struggle in some match ups.

Shitty defense is part of playing her unfortunately. Raw EX pin very sparingly and try to learn your opponents habits and how to block them. Hopefully Capcom fixes the damn cl.mk bug soon.

Some might say it is a waste of meter, but EX pinwheel (2 hits) FADC forward is I think +2 or +3 on block. If the PW connects you can combo into s.lk, s.lp, s.mp x hk PW. If they block you can do nothing, back dash or throw.