New player breaking barrier of entry

I am new to Street Fighter and fighting games in general. I bought AE about 1 month before Ultra came out and have been trying to get into the game because this genre looks like a ton of fun once you can break the barrier of entry they have.

I have watched every VesperArcade tutorial about Street Fighter so I understand all the mechanics and have been reading constantly about techniques. I know the barrier of entry to fighting games is insanely high and I’m struggling at this point of how to get over that hump to a point where I can enjoy the game. Currently I can execute some basic combos, I have some red focus combos so I can land an Ultra, and have a good idea of how to block and crouch tech.

My issue I think is that no one on xbox live is even remotely close to my level of skill and I am constantly getting bodied. I got double perfected last night for the first time ever and this guy only had like 400 PP. I know Ultra reset the stats but I had a ton of problems finding lower end people in AE as well. I want to stay committed to learning and getting into the game however I’m at a loss of what to do to improve. Getting bodied really doesn’t teach me much because not landing a hit and doing everything wrong isn’t exactly improving my game and is frustrating.

I started with Ryu for about 3 weeks to learn basic game mechanics but he really really doesn’t fit my style, I like cody, I like his style, and if the feedback is to go back to Ryu for now I will but I’m hoping I can stick with Cody. Should I just play arcade mode until I can beat Seth on Very Hard? or Hardest? Is my approach to online play incorrect?

Any help to get by this difficult barrier of entry would be much appreciated.

Just keep playing players that are beating you and try to improve, that’s the only thing you can do really. Arcade mode will not help much, but it could help your familiarity with other characters moves.