New Oni Match-up ratings!

Hey everyone. So I’ve noticed that the opinion of Oni and his matchups has shifted dramatically over the last 6 months or so. Since that time I’ve also picked up Oni as my main and have learned a lot about him. I think his other matchup ratings at Eventhubs are out of date now so I thought I’d get a new discussion on this started. I’ll start with my take (I’m no expert but I’m currently 2391 PP / 5537 BP with Oni on XBL).

Abel: 6:4 Oni. Oni has all the tools he needs to shut down Abel, I don’t think this match-up is difficult at all.

Adon: 6:4 Oni. Gamerbee agrees, Oni has the advantage here. IMO Adon can’t defend against Oni’s mix-up game, and Adon also has a hard time getting in against Oni’s pokes. Just bad for Adon all around.

Akuma: 5:5 even. I don’t think Akuma has any advantage here, Oni I think does fine against him. I look forward to facing Akuma because of his low health and Oni’s god-like EX DP. Akuma’s escape options balance it out and make it even I think.

Balrog: Probably even, though I find Balrog a tough fight (tougher then he was when I mained Akuma), so I might even say 4.5:5.5 in Balrog’s favor.

Blanka: 5.5:4.5 Oni. I used to get owned by Blanka but once I learned proper fireball spacing, pokes, and focus attacks, mixed in with demon palms against blanka’s electricity, I think the fight becomes pretty easy for Oni.

C. Viper: 4:6 Viper. I think one of Oni’s toughest match ups, since her escape options are solid, she does huge damage, and can mix up Oni pretty easily. I almost beat Wolfkrone the one time I faced him with Oni, but I think that was only because he was rusty and dropped some big combos.

Cammy: 5:5 even. I don’t fear Cammy at all with Oni, which is a strange feeling because she bodied my previous chars pretty well. His defense options keep her at bay well, and she doesn’t have great options against his mix-up slashes if you can surprise her with them.