Need help with Mika

How do I get better with Mika??? I watch replays, practice BnBs in the training room. To me she’s a very difficult character to use.

I usually poke with cr. lk, cr. mk, st. mk, and lately st. mp. My main BnB is stomp chop xx M flying peach. I almost never get a real jump in, it’s always cross ups, which i mixup with the forward jump d+mp body attack. My meaty usually consists of dash f+mk to stomp chop xx M flying peach.

My CC punishes are awful, f+hp dash f+hp the second uppercut whiffs a lot, charged st. hk I usually just dash up and throw because my reaction isn’t so good.

My AA sucks, either I try ex wingless and it sometimes gets stuffed (not that often but still) or in a cross up situation cr. mp I eat the cross up.

Help! I would like to play at least at a gold rank level with her. What can I do, which combos should I be working on, whose replays should I be watching, what should be my gameplan?

Thanks in advance.

I’m no expert, but I can tell you what worked for me when I was playing Mika.

Stop using stomp chop as you bnb. Its an easy combo because its a target combo but its very punishable on block (-6) and you’re probably also leaving a lot of damage on the table by using it when you get openings. You’ll still be using stomp chop here and there (its a great, confirmable follow up to charged st.HK for instance) but you don’t want to build the habit of using it a lot.

Practice st.MP -> st. HP xx H/EX Peach as your bnb. It isn’t a particularly difficult link (especially in the context of SFV) and it nets you good damage. You can use that for punishes in a lot of situations as well (I found Mika’s CCs to be kind of awkward so I usually stuck with that combo). st.MP is also fast enough to fairly easily link from her cross up (j.LK) so you can use that combo from any jump-in situation. As you get more practice you can upgrade that combo to st.MP -> st.HP xx super for bigger damage when the opportunity arises.