MadCatz Dreampad pcb questions

I have been looking into hacking a Dreampad pcb and finally went ahead and ordered one. I ordered this one off amazon: Amazon.com: Mad Catz Dream Pad: Video Games

Well I heard they were common ground and easy to hack due to the soldering holes in the pcb and have been looking into the pcb diagrams. Imagine my surprise when I open the controller and it looks nothing like the diagrams I have seen.

Does anyone have any advice or diagrams for this PCB? How to I find the grounds or even if it is common ground? Sorry, this is my first attempt at pcb mods and this really threw me off when it wasn’t what I was expecting.

I had the grey version of this same pad until recently…

They were produced in at least 3-4 colors over the very short lifetime of the Dreamcast – solid grey (original), transparent green, transparent red, and transparent blue. Might have showed up in at least two other colors. I think I recall that Transparent Black/Charcoal was made, too.

I asked the same question you did about “common ground” around 2 years ago… I was told the PCB was NOT common ground by people who are authorities.

The pad is definitely worth keeping for parts. Doubt you’ll be able to sell it as-is because A) a lot of people here want easy, all-in-one PCB solutions and HATE soldering to small button/directional pad points on vintage PCB’s; B) the Mad Catz brand name still means mud to a bunch of people who bought their product and feel like they got burned when their joypads broke; and C) there are newer production PCB’s and Agetec Joystick PCB’s that are easier to work with (much less to NO SOLDERING required) for Dreamcast joystick projects.