KOF 2002/2003 Beginners Help

I just picked up it yesterday, had a 40 dollars trade in from Gamestop so I figured wtf. Now I own alot of KOF’s but I dont really know how to play any of them that well. I started KOF 2003 and yeah I suck, I just never could get how the KOF system worked myself. I started playing Malin since she looks the the most interesting character in there(I dont care about tiers right now) and of course Terry. So if anyone can help me at all with any shit I should know coming into this game, it would be a big help. I know this is very vague but yeah right now I couldnt kick my own ass.

First thing, get Kao Megura’s FAQ/Movelist. It explains so goddamn much it would be retarded not to use it when you’re learning.

The thing that (in my opinion) separates KoF games from SF games (and SNK and Capcom games, respectively) is the roll.

This little mechanism allows you to travel without actually walk/running and to go through slow ass attacks or just surprise your opponent.

The roll works both against and towards rush down. KoF games are generally all about rush down and confusing the shit out of your opponent with non stop attacks. When one actually connects is when you do snazzy combos. Another thing KoF is about. If you’ll notice, almost all of the characters can connect a follow up normal from another standing normal and end it with a special move or a super attack. The roll works against rushdown cause if your rushdown sucks hard ass, people are going to roll right through it :tdown:

Oh, an opponent can be thrown out of a roll, so get some cat like reflexes and whenever you see the opponent roll right beside you, throw that shit around.

I’ve heard Malin is a beast. Super fast, super high priority.

I would recommend practising combos (and the links I described above), then seeking some decent competition when you think you’ve gotten the hang of it.

Get used to fighting lots of duo lons lots of k’s and daimons