KOF 13 newbie here

Few questions

1. When is it good to use meter, specifically drive cancels

2. What is hyper drive mode? Is that simply when you press c+b and your drive meter depletes over time? Also, what good does it do to be in this mode?

3. What is the standard button layout for this game? right now I have it set to
    Light Punch, Heavy punch
    Light Kick, Heavy Kick

I assume they represent:
A,B
C,D
respectively

1. are Max Cancels only when you cancel into the Neo Max move from another move?

Feel free to give additional info, even if I didnt ask for it at all (anything you would want to tell to a KOF newbie, say it!). I really like this game and want to get good at it.

The arcade version lets you choose between:
(A = LP B = LK C = HP D= HK)
A C
B D

or

B C D
A

The latter being the oldschool SNK layout.

As for game systems stuff, honestly I can’t really help you much. I got raped twice and moved back to AE. You might want to check this thread for more information:

1). So, when is it okay to use meter? See, that’s really a good question. You can use stock meter to get out of sticky situations like using a guard cancel blowback to get out of corner pressure or guard cancel evasive roll. However, the best time to use stock meter is to do a great deal of damage. If you know, with confidence, you can get that damage in with that meter you just earned, do it. Every bit of damage helps, especially in competitive play. Drive meter is about the same, do more damage.