ken vs elena

elena’s standing hk is so gay… and the flip kick thing is good too, can’t do much against it. any suggestion on how to fight elena?

Elena is a easy match up for ken. Elena can be beaten with air ex tatsus juggled into double srk. Lp srk is a huge damage maker in this matchup and can be doubled without kara.

I just started playing this match-up, I’m still learning it, but maybe I can give you some tips, and learn some as well…

From my understanding, the only super damage she gets are from her high/mid normals and specials. This means, if she knocks you down with meter, expect something like meaty UOH, and command overhead. She can do cr.LK xx super, which is probably a guess on her part, but this is why you should block low, and expect to react to overheads. Otherwise, she will probably stick to something like tick throws. Her kara throw is good, it’s very Chun-esque.

She can really bully you on wake-up, but Ken can do it a lot worse to her. Try to knock her down, and push an advantage before she does it to you. You can beat her on the ground with good zoning(maybe great zoning, because she is most likely zoning you too), low forward super is your best friend in this match. Try to expect high normals, and guard/parry accordingly. The only moves that must be blocked low are her cr.LK, MK, HK, and df.HK. The Elena that I play will often use df.HK once she starts building momentum, if you block this at any distance it’s a free low forward super or ex fb, if you parry enjoy the double jab dp damage.

Her Mallet Smash(flip kick thing?) is another reason why blocking high is favorable. It’s generally safe if she knows she can abuse it versus you, but if you have a guard/parry high mindset, you should be able to react to it accordingly. The EX version of this move has significant frame advantage, if she starts using this, get an idea on what she likes to follow it up with, in my experience, it’s either another EX or kara throw.