Improving at fighting games?

(I haven’t been on here in a while, I see)
Well honestly, I stopped playing fighting games a long while ago, because I kept doing horribly online and occasionally in single-player. Now that I recently started playing Arcana Heart 3, I still suck a bit.

Mostly I just messed around in MUGEN for a while, just playing other games on my consoles. But now that I’ve started playing Arcana Heart 3(I downloaded it back in 2011, but rarely played it.), I feel like improving my skills. I usually played doujinsoft fighting games like Akatsuki Blitzkampf (or “JEWPUNCHER” as it’s infamously called) and Melty Blood(Act Cadenza. I didn’t like Actress Again’s removal of survival mode, nor the changes in two characters I liked.). With Melty Blood, I mainly played as Warachia and Nanaya Shiki(with Neco Arc Chaos thrown in for fun) and as for Akatsuki Blitzkampf, I mained Akatsuki and Adler.

One reason I strayed away from fighting games was, because I didn’t enjoy Blazblue’s advanced fighting system or the Marvel vs Capcom 3’s(the original “Vanilla” version) unbalanced roster. But Arcana Heart 3 is the only game that has peaked my interest now, as it seems a bit more accessible.

At first, I had trouble finding any characters that fit, but just today I played through training mode and narrowed it down to Zenia and Petra. It’s unfortunate that AH3 doesn’t have a true “arcade” mode and I’d rather stay from Score Attack for a while.
I did consider setting the difficulty to easy, but I’ve decided on leaving it on “normal” difficulty, as that is how I learned to play Akatsuki Blitzkampf