I have an M button, but I'm not sure what it's for? DansGame

Ok apart from charging a round trip, what is the M button used for. From what I understand, adding M to your magic series only takes away damage and adds unwanted HSD to your combo. Is there any use for it in the Neutral game ( standing, crouching, or jumping ) or any reason I would want to start a combo with M over L? Any light shed on the subject would be much appreciated as I am still new to the character.

It’s his safest anti-air, iirc.

Worrying about damage scaling, in a Vergil combo, is silly. Meter build, which is unaffected by damage scaling, is much more important. Furthermore, Vergil’s damage scaling in particular means you don’t care about it; the confirm is more important, and weird confirms off certain assists may lead to s.L popping them out. Vergil’s damage scaling is low on normals (5%) and high on specials (20%), meaning you still get high damage from extending his combos with lots of Lunar Phases and Judgment Cuts and Round Trips, later in the combo. Vergil is a character that does not worry about damage, pretty much ever, because he has a repeatable high-damage hyper/hyper loop that only costs .7 bars and ignores hitstun.

Here’s a very basic example of why meter gain is important:

s.LH > Stinger > Rising Sun (trick down) > sj.MHS > c.H > Stinger > Trick Down > c.HS > j.MMH > Helm Breaker, does ~450k and builds slightly less than a full bar.

s.LMH > Stinger > Rising Sun (trick down) > sj.MHS > c.H > Stinger > Trick Down > c.HS > j.MMH > Helm Breaker, does ~440k and builds precisely one meter. This combo does more damage, in practice.