Hugo is FINALLY here

I been waiting on Hugo forever. Since I seen him in skyscraper under construction, I been hoping Capcom put him in the game. Now that he’s here, I have no idea on how to play with him. I feel completely random with every button I push. I don’t like being random. I like to have a plan of attack. I’m new to grapplers so I’m thinking maybe I need to focus on that. Any help from the grappler community would go a long way to helping me get better with him. Thanx in advance.

Churn dat butter

So with Hugo you have pretty much two modes: Poke and Mixup.

In the neutral game, nearly all of Hugo’s buttons make decent footsie tools.
Your standing and crouching lights are pretty much all great.
Notably, c.LP is your fastest at 5f, c.LK is a low, and s.LK is long-range but 8f. Lights are great counterpoke tools because they combo into Clap on Counterhit.
s.MP is gonna be one of your best pokes, at 9f startup and massive range.
s.HP has a hit of armor and will be your go-to meterless antiair and counterpoke, and hits overhead.
When I said Hugo has great buttons, though, I did say nearly all. s.HK/c.HK and c.HP have very niche uses, if any. Generally stay away from those buttons.
Which button you use when poking depends on mainly range and what your opponent is doing.
If they’re dancing around the midrange, go with s.MP or c.MK.
If they’re a bit closer throwing mediums buffered into stuff, go c.MP or a light of some sort buffered into Clap.
If they’re spacing you with long-range heavies, go with c.MP to punish whiffs or s.HP to counterpoke.
Once you back them into a corner, s.HP is really gonna shine, as it cuts them off if they try to jump out.

If they’re up in your face and pressuring you, your best bet is to either churn butter for a reversal SPD or just try and block it until there’s a gap and you can make some space again.
If they’re straight up running away, you can just start whiffing LK Lariat to build insane meter.